Tex Avery at M.G.M.'s
All characters on this site M.G.M. (Turner Entertainment Corp.)
Please do not use the drawings of this site

Tex Avery at M.G.M.'s

The studios were looking for characters able to be pretext to series.

With William Hanna and Joseph Barbera's Tom and Jerry, the Metro had a remarkable seam (which enabled its to win 7 Awards in 10 years !). This success undoubtedly offered Avery a greater independance to use his creations.

Characters designed by Tex Avery and his team appear according to the needs for the scenarios, without real systematism. Thus Screwy Squirrel, however the greatest success of Avery, dies at the end of Lonesome Lenny, after only 5 cartoons. It is not rare to see only once a character however very successful (for example the Flagada lion).

Used in the duration, the majority of these characters will see changing their features. The wolf, the absolute villain of the beginnings, loses gradually its sulfurous and erotomaniac side until becoming the pain-killer and placid pound guard in The Three Little Pups.

Under the influence of U.P.A.'s style, the Avery's characters will also be simplified in their layout. This formal impoverishment, that it is easy to follow on the character of Droopy, emphasizes even more - with some rare exceptions -, the extraordinary quality of the first years production.

Characters: The wolf | Screwy Squirrel | The girls | Droopy | Spike | George and Junior



The history | The characters | The cartoons | Links | About this site
Web design & Artwork Philippe COTTET - September 1998 - All rights reserved
Visitez Le Vent sombre, Chroniques du roman noir (2006)

bannière
All characters on this site © M.G.M. (Turner Entertainment Corp.)
Merci de ne pas utiliser les dessins de ce site
avery girl Les studios étaient très demandeurs de personnages pouvant être prétextes à des séries.

Avec Tom et Jerry de William Hanna et Joseph Barbera, la Métro possédait un filon remarquable (qui lui permit de remporter 7 Awards en 10 ans ! ). Ce succès offrit sans doute une plus grande liberté à Avery dans l'utilisation de ses créations.

Les personnages conçus par Tex Avery et sa bande n'apparaissent pas de façon systématique mais seulement en fonction des scénarios. Ainsi le Screwy Squirrel, pourtant la plus grande réussite d'Avery, meurt à la fin de Lonesome Lenny, après seulement 5 films. Il n'est pas rare de ne voir qu'une seule fois des personnages, pourtant très réussis (par exemple le lion Flagada).

Utilisés dans la durée, la plupart de ces personnages vont voir leurs traits de caractère se modifier. Le loup, le méchant absolu des débuts, va progressivement perdre son côté sulfureux et érotomane jusqu'à devenir l'anodin et placide gardien de fourrière de The Three Little Pups.

Sous l'influence du style U.P.A., les personnages d'Avery vont également être simplifiés dans leur tracé. Cet appauvrissement formel, qu'il est facile de suivre sur le personnage de Droopy, fait encore plus ressortir - à quelques rares exceptions près -, l'extraordinaire qualité de la production des premières années.

Personnages :
Le loup  Screwy Squirrel  Les girls  Droopy  Spike  George et Junior


Historique | Personnages | Filmographie | Liens | A propos de ce site
"Tex Avery à la MGM" fait partie d'un site plus vaste nommé AlphaBestiaire. Si vous êtes entrés directement, merci d'aller le visiter.
Textes, web design & artwork © Philippe COTTET - septembre 1998 - Tous droits réservés