Tex Avery at M.G.M.'s

Tex Avery at M.G.M.'s

Composing the collection of drawings La Boîte à Cells, I realised there was not really a French-speaking site devoted to Tex Avery. And, as often, majority of the existing Anglo-Saxon sites was intellectuely poor.

I am not a specialist in animation movies. It is thus extremely possible that some of my remarks can be disputed by experts.

I conceived this site around a first wish: to pay the best homage possible to a man and a team, of which works have the merit to still make me howl of laughing, not very current thing nowadays. However, I found in the work of the texan very interesting elements on the nature of violence. Permanent concern of my personal search, it influenced certain parts of my comments.

The option taken to redraw the totality of the images will be disputed by certain visitors. I was explained myself on my Web site illustration conception in several occasions and I can only refer you to my book Réussir son site Web (in french) in which they are summarized. I realized all of my drawings from screen-shots of Avery's cartoons. However I must confessed some visual loans to the enthralling book of Patrick Brion Tex Avery (Editions du Chêne).

If we make exception of an intense period for cartoon vision and long hours of search on the Net, the development of this site lasted approximately one month.

Tex Avery at M.G.M.'s forms part of a vaster site, called Alphabestiaire. Thanks to visit it, some pages are in english.

The history | The characters | The cartoons | Links | About this site |
Text, Web design & Artwork © Philippe COTTET - September 1998 - All rights reserved

Tex Avery à la MGM



Tex Avery à la MGM

C'est en composant la collection de la Boîte à Cells que je me suis rendu compte qu'il n'existait pas vraiment de site francophone consacré à Tex Avery. Qui plus est, et comme bien souvent, la plupart des sites anglo-saxons existants étaient, à cette époque du moins (car les choses s'arrangent peu à peu), assez légers.

Je ne suis en aucun cas un spécialiste du dessin animé. Il est donc fort possible que certaines de mes remarques puissent être contestées par des experts.

J'ai conçu ce site autour d'un premier souhait : rendre le meilleur hommage possible à un homme et une équipe, dont les oeuvres ont le mérite de me faire encore hurler de rire, chose peu courante de nos jours. Mais c'est un hommage un peu particulier, puisque j'ai trouvé dans le travail du Texan des éléments intéressants sur la nature de la violence. Préoccupation permanente de mes recherches personnelles, elle a influencé certaines parties de mes commentaires.

Le parti pris de redessiner la totalité des images sera contesté par certains visiteurs. Je me suis expliqué à plusieurs reprises sur ma conception de l'illustration d'un site Web et je ne peux que vous renvoyer à mon livre Réussir son site Web (Editions Osman Eyrolles Multimédia) dans lequel elles sont résumées. Toutes les images ont été redessinées à partir de photos d'écran des films d'Avery. Je confesse cependant quelques emprunts visuels au passionnant livre de Patrick Brion Tex Avery (Éditions du Chêne).

Tex Avery à la M.G.M. fait partie d'un site plus vaste, appelé Alphabestiaire, que je vous invite à visiter.



Historique | Personnages | Filmographie | Liens | A propos de ce site
Web design & Artwork © Philippe COTTET - septembre 1998 - Tous droits réservés