Deceit, Desire and the Novel : Self and Other in Literary Structure, (Johns Hopkins Univ Pr, 1965)
It is imperatively necessary to begin the reading of Girard with this first book, even though it is not the most easy to understand. The mechanism of the mimetic desire is entirely revealed here. Many things which will be approached thereafter, in particular in the anthropology of the Violence and the Sacred, could be correctly apprehended only if the reader seized well the connections composing the triangle subject-model-object, the different ways Girard considers the internal mediation, the transfiguration of the object, the contagion of the rivalries and the collapse of the differences. Deceit, Desire and the Novel : Self and Other in Literary Structure is the theoretical base of the work of René Girard, impossible to by pass, but it is also an amazing and revolutionary literary critic's exercise. This book is called MRVR in the pages of this site.

Resurrection from the Underground : Feodor Dostoïevski (Crossroad Pub Co) René Girard has a particular interest for Dostoïevski. The mimetic triangle and the omnipotence of the rival populate the totality of the work of the author of Crime and Punishment. By following step by step the life and work, René Girard shows how Dostoïevski - as from The Letters from underground - gradually brings out the perfect identity of the doubles. It is this slow work of the knowledge of the ignorance which is unveiled by Girard until the redemption of The Brothers Karamazov.

Violence and the Sacred, (Johns Hopkins Univ Pr, 1977)
Do the hypotheses put in light in MRVR can be found in the oldest texts of the humanity ? Taking support on the Greek tragedy, René Girard is going to bring out the identity between violence and mimesis. Consequently, how the men could escape the exponential and destroying circularity of the revenge ? The answer of René Girard is unambiguous: while turning the collective violence born from a paroxistic crisis of the differences against an only one, a scapegoat, and by investing this last one, at the same time, with the responsibility of the crisis and of its resolution, thus creating the ambivalence of the sacred. Naturally impossible to by pass this work where Girard proposes to us a simple explanation of the creation of the humanity by itself, while bringing out two new hypotheses for future developments : the sacrificial crisis and the principle of ignorance, which determine the efficiency of the mechanism of the scapegoat. This book is called VS in the pages of this site.

Things hidden since the foundation of the world, (Stanford Univ Pr, 1987)
This book of conversations is, at first, a complement of the anthropology developed in VS. René Girard reconsiders the most disputed aspects of his general theory of the culture, lightning thus some passages of Violence and the Sacred, also opening new ways to the mimetic hypotheses. It is also the book in which René Girard intends demonstrating the specificity of the Gospels message, lengthily prepared by the Ancient Testament. The preaching of Christ would be the only one to have revealed the violent origin of humanity and its cultural perpetuation. The defeat of the preaching and the Passion, which sacrifices the most innocent of all, would open the way to the slow knowledge of the ignorance about scapegoating. I think it is an extremely difficult book, susceptible to disturb seriously readers who would not have taken the care to read and understand MRVR and VS. This book is called DCC in the pages of this site.

Next >

 
The hypothesisThe Girard's anthropology • The Gospels revelation
Debates (in french only) • Bibliography • LinksE-mail

logo bibliographie
Les livres de René Girard bénéficient d'une réédition permanente en format poche et sont donc largement disponibles.

Mensonge romantique et vérité romanesque, Grasset, 1961
Il faut impérativement commencer la lecture de Girard par ce premier livre, même s'il n'est pas obligatoirement le plus accessible. C'est là que le mécanisme du désir mimétique est entièrement révélé et démonté. Beaucoup de choses qui seront abordées par la suite, notamment dans l'anthropologie de La violence et le sacré, ne pourront être correctement appréhendées que si l'on a bien saisi les rapports composant le triangle sujet-modèle-objet, la façon dont Girard envisage la médiation interne, la transfiguration de l'objet, la contagion des rivalités et l'effondrement des différences. Mensonge romantique, vérité romanesque est le fondement théorique incontournable de l'oeuvre de René Girard, mais c'est aussi un époustouflant et novateur exercice de critique littéraire.

DostoÏevski : du double à l'unité, Plon, 1963
Il y a un cas Dostoïevski qui passionne René Girard. Le triangle mimétique et l'omnipotence du rival peuplent la totalité de l'oeuvre de l'auteur de Crime et Châtiment. En suivant pas à pas la vie et l'oeuvre, René Girard montre comment Dostoïevski - à compter des Mémoires écrits dans un souterrain - dégage progressivement la parfaite identité des doubles. C'est ce lent travail de la connaissance de la méconnaissance qui est mis à jour par Girard jusqu'à la rédemption des Frères Karamazov. L'essai fait partie à présent du collectif Critique dans un souterrain.

La violence et le sacré, Grasset, 1972
Les hypothèses mises en lumière à partir du romanesque dans MRVR peuvent-elles être retrouvées dans les textes les plus anciens de l'humanité ? Prenant appui sur la tragédie grecque, René Girard va dégager l'identité entre violence et mimésis. Dès lors, comment les hommes ont-ils pu échapper à la circularité exponentielle et destructrice de la vengeance ? La réponse de René Girard est sans équivoque : en retournant la violence collective née d'une crise paroxistique des différences sur un seul, la victime émissaire et en investissant cette dernière, à la fois de la responsabilité de la crise et de sa résolution, créant ainsi l'ambivalence du sacré. Ouvrage bien entendu incontournable puisque Girard nous y propose une explication simple de la création de l'humanité par elle-même, tout en dégageant deux nouvelles hypothèses riches de développements futurs : la crise sacrificielle et le principe de méconnaissance, qui conditionne l'efficacité du mécanisme victimaire.

Critique dans un souterrain, L'Age d'Homme, 1976
Ce livre réunit l'ensemble des critiques littéraires de René Girard depuis la publication de MRVR, y compris le long essai sur Dostoïevski édité précédemment chez Plon. Une nouvelle lecture de L'Étranger et sa mise en relation dynamique avec La Chute lui permet de proposer une autre approche d'Albert Camus, très éloignée des schémas classiques d'explication. On y trouve également une recension très critique de l'ouvrage de Deleuze et Guattari L'anti-Oedipe.

Des choses cachées depuis la fondation du monde, Grasset, 1978
Ce livre d'entretiens est d'abord un complément de l'anthropologie développée dans VS. René Girard revient sur les aspects les plus contestés de sa théorie générale de la culture, éclairant ainsi certains passages de La violence et le Sacré, ouvrant également de nouvelles voies aux hypothèses mimétiques. Il est aussi le livre dans lequel René Girard entend démontrer la spécificité du message évangélique, longuement préparé par l'Ancien Testament. La prédication du Christ serait la seule à avoir dévoilé l'origine violente de l'humanité et sa perpétuation culturelle. L'échec de la prédication et la Passion, qui sacrifie le plus innocent de tous, ouvrirait la voie à la lente connaissance de la méconnaissance du mécanisme victimaire. A mon avis, c'est un livre extrêmement difficile, susceptible de perturber gravement des lecteurs qui n'auraient pas pris le soin de lire et comprendre au prélable MRVR et VS.

Bibliographie commentée page 2